May 1st, 2009

energies of God

"Who, being in the form of God, thought it not robbery to be equal with God: But made himself of no reputation, and took upon him the form of a servant, and was made in the likeness of men: And being found in fashion as a man, he humbled himself, and became obedient unto death, even the death of the cross. [1]

... For not in Matter doth
the First Transcendent Fire His own Power clothe
by means of deeds, but by the Nous; for Nous of Nous
is Craftsman of the Fiery Cosmos....

That is, the First Nous (the Transcendent Fire) does not directly clothe His Ideas (Power) in Matter, but this is accomplished by the Second Nous (Nous born of Nous, the Craftsman), who creates the Empyrean World (the Fiery Cosmos).

To accomplish this He looks towards the Pattern or Model (Paradeigma) to guide His creation of the World. In particular, the First Nous is the Model upon which He fashions human souls. As the Oracles (fr. 25) say,

These things the Father thought; a mortal was ensouled.

This refers to Noêsis, the intuitive thinking, of the Paternal Nous, the ultimate source of all souls.

Ancient Greek Technitês (Craftsman) comes from the Indo-European root Tek, which means "to Weave" and, more generally, "to Fabricate" (hence Architect, from Tektôn = Builder). From the same root comes Latin Tela (web, net, warp of fabric) and subtilis (finely woven, subtle), which refers to the Thread passing under the warp (sub tela). English "Toil" also comes from this root. The Craftsman works at weaving the world with His subtle thread.


Overeating is tamasic.

Tamas cannot be counteracted by tamas. It might be easier to counteract it by means of rajas (action), and it might be more difficult to jump directly from tamas to sattva. The result of a life led by tamas is demerit by karma: demotion to a lower life-form.

Tamas, or tamo-guna, is the lowest of the three gunas. It is a force which promotes one or more of the following: (1) darkness, (2) death, (3) destruction, (4) ignorance, (5) Sloth, (6) resistance. Tamas is viewed as being more negative than either rajas or sattva. Tamas has also been translated as "indifference". This is the most negative guna because of its rejection of Karmaic Law and the central principle of dharmaic religions; that one's Karma must be worked out and not ignored

Each of the three gunas has its own distinctive characteristics and it is believed that everything is made up of these three. Tamas is lowest, heaviest, slowest, and most dull (for example, a stone or a lump of earth). It is devoid of the energy of the Rajas and the brightness of Sattva.

"Those who embody the energies of sattva-white light, raajas-red passion, and taamas-black darkness, abide in the Fear of God, along with the many created forms."

"Raajas, the quality of energy and activity; Taamas, the quality of darkness and inertia; and Satvas, the quality of purity and light, are all called the creations of Maya, Your illusion. That man who realizes the fourth state - he alone obtains the supreme state"

"Your Power is diffused through the three gunas: raajas, taamas and satva"

"Raajas, the quality of energetic activity shall pass away. Taamas, the quality of lethargic darkness shall pass away. Saatvas, the quality of peaceful light shall pass away as well. All that is seen shall pass away. Only the Word of the Holy Saint is beyond destruction"

"You should know, O Arjuna, tamas as the cause of delusion enslaving all embodied beings born of nescience; by negligence, listlessness and somnolescence."

"O Arjuna, nescience, inertness, neglectfulness and also illusion; when these arise tamas predominates."